June 19, 2012

Fort McMurray, Alberta – A new President, Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer and Director were elected to the Wood Buffalo Environmental Association (WBEA) Governance Committee at the Association’s Annual General Meeting last week.

Diane Phillips, Syncrude Canada Ltd., was elected President of the Association, Nick Veriotes, Total E&P Canada Ltd., was elected Vice President and Marc Huot, Pembina Institute for Appropriate Development, was elected Secretary/Treasurer. The Governance Committee also welcomed Angela Pohl, Suncor Energy, as a Director on the committee.

WBEA Executive Director, Dr. Kevin Percy, is excited about the new make-up of the Governance Committee.

Dr. Percy said, “I am pleased to welcome Diane, Nick, Marc and Angela to the Governance Committee. Each member brings his or her own perspective, expertise and experience to the table. It’s this diversity that will carry us forward and make us stronger as we continue to be a fact-based and credible authority on air quality and the environment in our communities and Region.”

The staff, Members and Governance Committee of WBEA recognize and sincerely thank Ann Dort MacLean for her nearly 20 years of dedicated service to WBEA, and Kevin Scoble for his term as WBEA Vice President. Ann will continue to serve on WBEA’s General Membership as a representative of the Fort McMurray Environmental Association, and Kevin will continue to represent the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo.

WBEA also unanimously welcomed Sunshine Oilsands Ltd. as its newest member at last week’s meeting. Sunshine Oilsands is a Calgary based company focused on the development of its significant holdings of oil sands leases in the Athabasca Oil Sands Region.

Dr. Percy stated, “More than ever, WBEA is committed to undertaking solid scientific environmental work in the RMWB; and I look forward working with our newest Governance Committee members, and our newest General Member, to fulfill that commitment.”

The Wood Buffalo Environmental Association (WBEA) is an independent, community based, not-for-profit organization that monitors the air in the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. This is done through a variety of air, land and human monitoring programs. The air quality information collected is openly shared with stakeholders and the public.

For more information please visit


The Governance Committee is made up of seven representatives from WBEA’s larger General Membership:

Diane Phillips, Syncrude Canada Ltd. – WBEA President
Nick Veriotes, Total E&P Canada Ltd. – Vice President
Marc Huot, Pembina Institute for Appropriate Development – Secretary/Treasurer
Daniel Stuckless, Fort McKay Sustainability Department – WBEA Director
Lance Miller, Devon – WBEA Director
Michael Aiton, Alberta Environment – WBEA Director
Angela Pohl, Suncor Energy – WBEA Director

With the addition of Sunshine Oilsands Ltd., WBEA is made up of 28 member organizations.